Living with intention…or not


The putterer
January 23, 2010, 11:33 pm
Filed under: Home sweet home

Where do the weekend hours go? I’m trying to be more conscious of what I do with my time, but even so, hours seem to evaporate with little to show for them. This morning, I slept late (9:00+), showered, wrapped Jeanette’s birthday presents, and made a card for her. Seems like there was more but what the heck was it? Oh, yeah– I frosted the cake that I baked last night. Chocolate/chocolate. Mmmmm.

We had lunch at 99 with Ed & Jeanette (joint birthday bash), where I had my favorite Pecan-Crusted Chicken Salad and a cuppa chowder. The candied walnuts on the salad are the best part and I save them up for the last few bites like a happy little squirrel.

After lunch, cake back here. For an $0.89 mix, it was awesome. Moist, light, and chocolatey. We were looking at bakery cakes while we grocery shopped last night but I couldn’t bring myself to pay $10-$15 for cake. So we bought a mix and frosting, and after adding water, oil, and eggs, and a little bit of time…CAKE. And more importantly…CHEAP cake. DELICIOUS cheap cake.

This afternoon we walked the boys in Herthum. Haven’t been around our usual loop in weeks because of the never-ending chill. But there was sun today, and I think we hit the 30’s, so not too bad. Boo and Scout fought it a bit at the get-go, but once we got going they trotted along.

After the walk, I got my notes together for a church meeting tomorrow, and then got my work lists and iCal updated and printed for the week. I created a DINNER calendar in iCal so that I can do a better job of getting dinners mapped out for the next week.

Then— hot tub, hot chocolate, and a batch of molasses cookie dough (needs to chill so I’ll bake tomorrow).

I still want to read, and there are a few minutes left before the clock strikes midnight and Saturday is gone. Gone! Another Saturday gone.

Gonna go grab those minutes.

dsc00771.jpg


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment