Living with intention…or not


Hunkered down.
November 11, 2007, 9:31 pm
Filed under: Home sweet home, Pets, Vehicles

We blew off church this morning as we’ve been needing a day to just hunker down and get some things done (and to maybe get ahead a little bit?). Fueled with French toast, Fred took care of the leaves and the laundry, while I made meatballs for later in the week and chopped veggies (onions, peppers, mushrooms) for tomorrow’s dinner recipe from Everyday Food (Cornbread & Beef Skillet Pie). We took a short ride to get lunch at A&W, then took the pups for a walk around the usual route. I also ironed three outfits to get a jump on the week…something I never do.

We hit PetsMart this evening and took Boo along. He rode in the “seat” part of the cart. People were laughing at him because he was making the saddest puppy dog eyes and kept shaking. Must be he thought that we were going to leave him there for another haircut. Cute.

Yesterday I made progress on my (80) Christmas cards by cutting out all of the stamped designs that I finished coloring last week. Now I have to cut 80 mats, mat the designs, and glue them to card stock. Why the hell didn’t I work on this while I was home this summer? Oh…I know…because it was summer. Santa has little appeal when you’re on the patio sweating.

Early last week we turned in my GTI (the “red rocket”) and bought a 2007 Mitsubishi Outlander. I loved driving the GTI but it sucks in snow…which we knew when we bought it but chose to ignore. I get VERY attached to cars and feel like I’m abandoning them when I turn them in, so I was very torn about the whole thing. But now that I have the Outlander, I love it. And I won’t be scared about driving to work in a snowstorm. I spent a chunk of time Friday evening getting the hands-free Bluetooth cell phone dealie synced up and working. I’m not big on talking on the phone (sort of hate it), but I love the feature. You know…just in case.

Should’ve worked on cards this evening, but I flipped through the Sunday paper and kept one eye on “The Amazing Race” instead.Monday looms. Ick.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay for a new car. It’s so shiny and pretty. Also yay for making Christmas cards. I haven’t started on mine yet, but they are sure to be “fun” due to several small punched out designs!

Comment by Catie

Thanks. It IS shiny. And Fred’s been diligent about keeping it clean, so I know that it’ll always be shiny. I love the Smart Key and hands-free phone systems. No more tears for the GTI. I’ve moved on.

Comment by justwriteit




Leave a Reply

