Living with intention…or not


You never know.
March 31, 2007, 10:14 pm
Filed under: Health

Soooo…about a month ago I thought I had a stomach bug…chills, some pain, plain old icky feeling. Then one night I woke with a sudden and severe stab to my lower left abdomen. 911. Ambulance. ER. Sonograms. Ovaries were a mess with cysts and endometriosis, and so a hysterectomy was scheduled. I had to wait four or so days as the desired surgeon was out of town, so I literally gritted my teeth through those days, aided with healthy doses of hydrocodone. Finally, surgery, which we were told, would last 1-1.5 hours. I went out around 11 am and was shocked to see the clock reading nearly 5 pm when I started coming to. And there was hazy talk of colon removal. Hmmmm. So here I am…after eight days in the hospital, and now nearly two weeks at home…with both a hysterectomy and a colon re-section (due to perforations from diverticulitis) which resulted in a temporary colostomy. I’m healing and I’m dealing. But yeah, you just never know.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

1. I’m a suck ass Internet friend. I have no idea how I missed your last post at Diaryland. I’m so sorry to hear about your surgery. I would imagine the whole thing is very traumatic. I hope you’re feeling better with each passing day.

Comment by Catie




Leave a Reply

